The Caterer Announces Cateys 2019 Shortlist


The shortlist for the 36th Catey Awards has been revealed after industry leaders met to debate entries this week.

The Cateys, held in partnership with Bunzl Catering and Hospitality Division, recognise the most talented individuals, biggest brands and strongest performers in the hospitality industry.

The shortlists and winners are decided by industry judges chosen for their expertise and industry knowledge, making the Cateys the ultimate accolade in peer group recognition.

The winners will be revealed at a special event on 2 July at London’s Grosvenor House, a JW Marriott hotel.

To buy tickets for the event, visit or to explore sponsorship opportunities contact

Good Luck to all those shortlisted!!

Accessibility Award, sponsored by Blue Badge Access Awards
Park Plaza Waterloo, London
Royal Lancaster London

Best Employer
Firmdale Hotels
Manor House Lindley
Red Carnation Hotels
The Grand Brighton

Best Marketing Campaign, sponsored by Amadeus
Inception Group
M Restaurants, London
Marriott Hotels
Rockliffe Hall, Darlington, County Durham

Best use of Technology, sponsored by Bookatable
Cheval Residences
The Genuine Dining Co
Vita Mojo

Chef Award 
James Knappett, Bubbledogs & Kitchen Table, London
Lisa Goodwin-Allen, Northcote, Langho, Lancashire
Nathan Outlaw, Nathan Outlaw Restaurants, Port Isaac, Cornwall
Paul Ainsworth, Paul Ainsworth at No 6, Padstow, Cornwall
Tom Kitchin, The Kitchin Group, Edinburgh

Education and Training Award, sponsored by Bidfood
Andrew Boer, Edge Hotel School
Gary Hunter, Westminster Kingsway College
Gordon McIntyre, City of Glasgow College
Molook Shaher, Middlesbrough College

Foodservice Caterer Award, sponsored by Diversey Zenith
Allister Richards, Gather & Gather
Andrew Wilson and Carolyne Vale, Wilson Vale
Kevin Watson, Amadeus
Phil Roker, Vacherin

Health and Nutrition Award, sponsored by Upfield
Eden Caterers
Fish City Belfast
Westminster Kingsway College and the Royal College of General Practitioners

Hotel of the Year – Group, sponsored by Bunzl Catering and Hospitality Division
Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
The Langham, London
The Ned, London
The Pig – at Combe

Hotel of the Year – Independent
Fonab Castle Hotel & Spa, Pitlochry, Perthshire
Rockliffe Hall, Darlington, County Durham
Rudding Park, Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Yorebridge House, Bainbridge, North Yorkshire

Manager of the Year
Sally Beck, Royal Lancaster London
Jorge Gertrudes, Home Grown Hotels (The Pig)
Andre Mannini, M Restaurant Group
James Stewart, the Belfry Hotel & Resort
Michael West, the Social Company

Newcomer Award
Frog by Adam Handling, London
Lympstone Manor, Exmouth, Devon
Margot, London
Salt, Stratford-upon-Avon
Socius, Burnham Market, Norfolk

Pub and Bar Award, sponsored by Britvic
Adam Handling, Adam Handling Group, London
Chris & Jeff Galvin, Galvin Green Man, Great Waltham, Essex
Steven Smith, Freemasons at Wiswell, Lancashire

Public Sector Caterer Award
Catering Service, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust
John Figgins, West Sussex County Council
Matthew White, the University of Reading/TUCO

Restaurateur of the Year – Group, sponsored by Bunzl Catering and Hospitality Division
Des Gunewardena and David Loewi, D&D London
Philip Eeles, Tom Barton and Dorian Waite, Honest Burgers
Pranee and Andy Laurillard, Giggling Squid
Will Beckett and Huw Gott, Hawksmoor

Restaurateur of the Year – Independent, sponsored by Opentable
Paul Ainsworth, Paul Ainsworth at No 6, Padstow, Cornwall
Tom Kerridge, Hand & Flowers, Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Tom Kitchin, the Kitchin Group, Edinburgh

Sustainable Business Award
Battlesteads, Hexham, Northumberland
Eden Caterers
Fairmont St Andrews, Fife
Lussmanns Restaurants

Wine and Spirit Ambassador Award, sponsored William Grant & Sons
Alessandro Palazzi, Dukes London
Jan Konetzki, Four Seasons Hotel London at Ten Trinity Square
Joel Claustre, Searcys
Sandia Chang, Bubbledogs & Kitchen Table, London

The shortlist for the Menu of the Year, sponsored by Teflon, will be announced next month.

There is no shortlist for the International Outstanding Achievement Award, sponsored by Unilever Food Solutions, the Special Award, sponsored by CH&Co, and the Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by Berkeley Scott.